New album ‘Damnum Per Saeculorum’ due 31 July 2020

My Silent Wake’s new acoustic/ambient/experimental album ‘Damnum Per Saeculorum’ is due for release on 31 July 2020 via Opa Loka Records on CD and digital formats. ‘Damnum…’ is My Silent Wake’s 11th full-length album since forming in 2005 and their fourth in the acoustic/ambient/experimental vein – 15 songs for 15 years. The self-produced album was recorded in the band’s home studios in various sessions around the UK in late 2019/early 2020 and was mixed by Simon Bibby (keyboards, vocals), with cover artwork by David MacLean (guitars, vocals). The title translates to ‘Loss Throughout the Ages’ which describes the theme of the album, with styles ranging from acoustic medieval songs to futuristic soundscapes. Songs feature numerous vocalists and vocal styles from band members as well as lyrical contributions, vocal and instrumental performances from members of their close friends and family.


1. An Affectionate Remembrance
2. Warhawks
3. Diadem (The Rise and Fall of a King)
4. Bacchanal
5. Arfryn
6. All Our Fears Are Over
7. Fertile Ground Pt.1
8. Of Loss and Regret
9. Fall in the Sea
10. To Feel the Caress of Long-Dead Lovers
11. Triple Life
12. The Rhyme of Winters’ Children
13. Monochrome
14. The Mourning Earth
15. Berceuse

Release date: 31 July 2020
Available Formats: CD, Digital
Release Label: Opa Loka Records (

For interviews and reviews, see the ‘Damnum Per Saeculorum’ album page.

There Was Death – A new heavy album on Minotauro records

MY SILENT WAKE – There Was Death.

Order CD here!

Released on Minotauro Records.

From the south west of England comes acclaimed death/doom band My Silent Wake with their new full length studio album. The brand new release There Was Death features some of MSW’s heaviest works to date. Recorded, mixed and mastered this Autumn at 13 Sound in Somerset and Priory Studios in Sutton Coldfield with doom legend Greg Chandler of Esoteric. Guest growls and screams from Greg feature on the album along with a cover by renowned Finnish artist Juha Vuorma.

MSW were formed in 2005 by founder member Ian Arkley of Seventh Angel / Ashen Mortality and has featured a variety of musicians. MSW have toured in Europe including 2010’s tour with Norway’s In Vain and in recent years have played at various festivals and gigs with Draconian, The Vision Bleak and Saturnus to name a few.

This is the tenth studio album from the band. MSW have also appeared on split albums with The Drowning and Pylon.

MSW – There Was Death track list

1. A Dying Man’s Wish
2. Damnatio Memoriae
3. Killing Flaw
4. Ghosts of Parlous Lives
5. Mourning The Loss of The Living
6. There Was Death
7. Walls Within Walls
8. No End to Sorrow
9. An End to Suffering

Greg Chandler – additional keys, vocals

Music by Ian, Addam and Simon, arrangements by MSW.
Lyrics by Ian, Addam, Simon.
Recorded, produced, mixed and mastered by Greg Chandler at Priory studios, near Birmingham UK Drums and some guitars recorded by Charlie Lintern at 13 Sound studios.
Additional parts recorded at various home studios.

MSW Line – up:

Ian Arkley – vocals and guitar
Addam Westlake – bass
Gareth Arlett – drums
Simon Bibby – keys and vocals
David MacLean – guitars (live)

Check out a track from the new album here